top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Shatzel

Teachers need to be more than just teachers!


Advertising on social media, television, and in magazines is damaging the lives and minds of many teenagers. Although ads may seem harmless, they have negative effects on the self-esteem and body images of adolescents. The years of adolescence is a very sensitive time when teens are still learning about themselves and growing into their bodies. As we talked about in class on Monday, advertisements often use people’s insecurities and weaknesses to appeal to what people want to look like. It may not seem like a big deal, but adolescents are easily influenced and these ads generate fears of never looking like or being like the figures in the advertisement.


This topic is very upsetting for me and really hits home. I can admit that I still am an insecure person, and I believe many of my insecurities grew throughout my life due to what’s portrayed in media. I have learned that what is portrayed in media and advertisements is often very unrealistic, but many young teens do not realize this. During class, one of my classmates spoke about her high school experience and how she looked at pictures of models and celebrities on social media and wished she could be “pretty” like them. Hearing this really bothered me because the problem with our society is that we look at a specific kind of person and say they’re “pretty”, “beautiful”, “handsome”, etc. These words should NOT be assigned to any one type of person because everyone is beautiful in there own way. I wish this was a concept that was understood by all teenagers rather than them thinking they need to look and be like someone else.


Advertising and the media are not the only reasons that teenagers are often sensitive and insecure. This is just the way that most teenagers are because they are going through the adolescent stage of life. This should be common sense, but teachers who are to work in a middle school or high school setting, let alone any school setting, must support their students and not be a jerk to kids! That’s right, I have to actually say teachers shouldn’t be a jerk to kids because it happens more than you think! I had a number of teachers who acted immature in class and picked on their students. I shouldn’t even have to say this, but that is wrong in so many ways. These kids already feel more insecure from what they see on social media everyday, and they don’t need an adult making it worse! As a teacher you need to not only support your students academically, but emotionally. Being a teacher entails being a friend and role model for your students. Most importantly, care about your students!


The lives of many middle and high school students are not easy, at least for me it was not! There are so many things you are still learning about yourself and many pressures from the society, media, and other students in the school. A teacher can be that one person to change the lives of students and make their school experience a positive one! My boyfriend told me that he owes his success in high school to his one math teacher and doesn’t think he would of graduated without her motivation and support. I aspire to be that kind of teacher for my students. I’m not in school to only become a person that teaches math, but to become a teacher, friend, and role model for students who are in need of motivation, care, and support.


14 views0 comments
bottom of page